office closure

image37

The Carlton SWCD office will be closed to the public until further notice.  SWCD conservation technicians and specialists are available via phone or email.  Please note our staff availability may vary during this closure so it may take several days to receive a return message.  Contact information for the office and staff can be found below.

Office Phone Number: 218-384-3891

Staff Email

Alyssa Alness   -  alyssa.alness@carltonswcd.org

Melanie Bomier  -  melanie.bomier@carltonswcd.org

Ryan Clark  -  ryan.clark@carltonswcd.org

Brad Matlack  -  bradmatlack@carltonswcd.org

Julie Radovich  -  julie.radovich@carltonswcd.org

Kelly Smith  -  kelly.smith@carltonswcd.org

Board Meetings

The June board meeting location is TBD. 

Thank you!

We appreciate your patience and understanding in this emergency situation.  

Our Story

image38

Rooted in Conservation Since 1961

 As a Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD), our role is to maintain and improve the natural resources of the county. Being a State agency that operates at a local level, we collaborate directly with residents to enhance the landscape and benefit the wider community. While initially serving farmers and managing soil erosion, our focus has expanded to land occupiers in general and nearly all landscape features.

image39

A Mission Towards Progress

Conservation isn't just simply planting trees or managing erosion when troubles arise. It requires a planned approach with a focus on improvement over time by working with the landscape. 

Our mission in turn is to assist land occupiers in protecting and enhancing the natural resources of Carlton County with focus on:

  • Watershed Planning
  • Forestry Technical Assistance
  • Agriculture Technical Assistance
  • Urban Conservation Assistance

image40

Your Land, Your Goals, Our Expertise

While our goal is to improve the status of conservation in the area, we recognize the varying needs and visions of land owners. In turn, we look to find the potential of the landscape and match that to your goals. Whether that means more wildlife, timber in the future, or a lasting legacy. We aim to make it a reality.

SWCD Staff

County Water Plan

SWCD Staff

Our technical staff is trained in the areas of water quality, agriculture, forestry and easements.  We are here to help with your conservation goals

SWCD Board

County Water Plan

SWCD Staff

The Carlton SWCD Board is made up of 5 elected officials.  Board meetings are held the 2nd Monday of each month in the Carlton SWCD board room.

County Water Plan

County Water Plan

County Water Plan

 In 2016, responsibility for implementation of the  County Comprehensive Local Water Management Plan was transferred to  Carlton SWCD.

Reporting

Reporting

County Water Plan

View our annual report, budget, audits, grant information and more.

FAQ's

Reporting

FAQ's

If you don't see your question listed here then please give us call.  We'd love to help.  

Contact Us

Better yet, come see us in person!

Feel free to visit during normal business hours but please call first.  We are frequently in the field working on conservation projects.  


Check out the "About Us" section for an email list of our technical staff.

Carlton SWCD

808 3rd Street, Carlton, Minnesota 55718

218-384-3891

Hours

Open today

07:30 am – 04:30 pm

Drop us a line!

Cancel